County Elections – Who's standing where

County Elections – Who's standing where


Nominations closed yesterday (Friday April 5th) at noon for the West Sussex County Council elections on May 2nd.  There are nine contested County divisions in Worthing.

Conservatives, Labour, Liberal Democrats and UKIP are contesting all divisions with the Greens contesting six.

Three current members have retired: Clem Stevens (Conservative – Cissbury),  Irene Richards (Liberal Democrat – Worthing East) and John Livermore (Conservative –  Worthing West).


Nominations are as follows:

Broadwater:  Currently Liberal Democrat

Conservative – Bryan Turner

Labour – John Turley

Liberal Democrat – Alan Rice (re-standing)

UKIP – Colin Avis


Cissbury:  Currently Conservative

Conservative – John Rogers

Green – Al Emery

Labour – Ann Saunders

Liberal Democrat – Victoria Taylor

UKIP – Robin Harper


Durrington & Salvington:  Currently Conservative

Conservative – Nicola Waight (re-standing)

Labour – Jillian Kay

Liberal Democrat – Michael Donin

UKIP – Trixie Hall


Goring – Currently Conservative

Conservative – Steve Waight (re-standing)

Green – David Aherne

Labour – Janet Haden

Liberal Democrat – Neil Campbell

UKIP –Tarring  Richard Bater


Northbrook – Currently Liberal Democrat

Conservative – Daniel Humphreys

Green – Melanie Muir

Labour – Philip Dufty

Liberal Democrat – Robin Rogers (re-standing)

UKIP – Mike Jelliss


Tarring – Currently Liberal Democrat

Conservative – Sean McDonald

Green – William Morris

Labour – Michael Brown

Liberal Democrat – Robert Smytherman (re-standing)

UKIP – Shaune King


Worthing East – Currently Liberal Democrat

Conservative – Roger Oakley

Labour – Mike Barrett

Liberal Democrat – Christine Brown

UKIP – Grant Lloyd


Worthing Pier – Currently Independent

Conservative – Michael Cloake

Green – James Doyle (re-standing)

Labour –  Peter Barnes

Liberal Democrat – Hazel Thorpe

UKIP – Christopher Woodward


Worthing West – Currently Conservative

Conservative – Paul High

Green – Daniel Aherne

Labour – Alexandra Wagstaff

Liberal Democrat – Yvonne Leonard

UKIP – Rick Seft